Rangers stars recognized at 2024 NHL Awards ceremony

NHL: Dallas Stars at New York Rangers
Danny Wild-USA TODAY SportsCredit: Danny Wild-USA TODAY Sports

Though no Blueshirt took home any individual hardware, New York Rangers stars Artemi Panarin and Adam Fox did receive significant recognition at the 2024 NHL Awards ceremony on Thursday night in Las Vegas.

After a 49-goal, 120-point season, Panarin was selected to the NHL First All-Star Team, joining Hart Trophy recipient Nathan MacKinnon, Norris Trophy winner Quinn Hughes, Vezina Trophy recipient Connor Hellebuyck, as well as Nikita Kucherov and Roman Josi.

Neither Panarin nor Fox were one of the three finalists for the Hart and Norris trophies respectively, but that didn’t stop either of them from finishing in the top five.

Panarin finished fifth in the Hart vote as NHL MVP, receiving three first-place votes. He finished fourth in the NHL in points and fifth in goals this past season. MacKinnon, Kucherov, Connor McDavid, and Auston Matthews were the only players to finish ahead of the Rangers’ star winger in the Hart Trophy voting.

Related: Chris Drury has busy to-do list in Las Vegas

Rangers stars Artemi Panarin, Adam Fox earns NHL Awards honors

NHL: Dallas Stars at New York Rangers
Danny Wild-USA TODAY SportsCredit: Danny Wild-USA TODAY Sports

Fox finished fourth in the Norris Trophy vote as top NHL defenseman, receiving one first-place vote and the most fourth-place votes of any defenseman with 38.

An early-season injury hurt the 25-year-old’s chances of finishing in the top-three for the Norris. Fox was sidelined 10 games after suffering knee-to-knee contact against the Carolina Hurricanes on Nov. 2.

Still, Fox played at over a point-per-game pace, tallying 73 points in 72 games and scoring an NHL career-high 17 goals. Despite the missed time, he still ranked sixth in points and goals among all NHL defensemen.

It’s worth noting that it marks a fourth consecutive top-five Norris finish for Fox, who is just the 20th player in NHL history to accomplish such a feat. He joins the likes of all-time greats like Bobby Orr, Ray Bourque, and Niklas Lidstrom.

Moreover, he’s just the fifth defenseman since 1990 to receive four consecutive top-five votes, with Lidstrom, Makar, Zdeno Chara, and Victor Hedman being the others.

Fox was also named to the NHL Second All-Star Team at Thursday night’s awards ceremony, alongside Makar, Connor McDavid, David Pastrnak, Filip Forsberg, and Thatcher Demko.

The Rangers were unable to take home the trophy that matters most, the Stanley Cup, but it’s nice to see Panarin and Fox recognized for their magnificent seasons, which helped the Rangers win the Presidents’ Trophy and establish franchise records for wins (55) and points (114) in a season..

Lou Orlando has spent the past two seasons as a New York Rangers beat reporter for WFUV Sports. The... More about Lou Orlando

Mentioned in this article:

More About: