Artemi Panarin up for Ted Lindsay award, preview for Hart Trophy

The NHLPA has put Artemi Panarin of the New York Rangers up for the Ted Lindsay award along with Colorado Avalanche, Nathan MacKinnon, and Edmonton Oiler, Leon Draisaitl. This award is for the most outstanding player as voted by the players themselves.

Artemi Panarin Ted Lindsay Finalist

The National Hockey League Players’ Association (NHLPA) announced today that Rangers forward Artemi Panarin has been named a finalist for the Ted Lindsay Award, which is presented annually to the “most outstanding player in the NHL” as voted by fellow members of the NHLPA. He is the first Ranger who has been named a finalist for the award (which was formerly known as the Lester B. Pearson Award) since Henrik Lundqvist in 2011-12, and he is the first Rangers skater who has been named a finalist for the award since Jaromir Jagr was named the winner of the Lester B. Pearson Award in 2005-06.

New York Rangers press release

Artemi Panarin led the team in scoring with 95 points this season and is a big reason why they are back in the playoff picture.

Preview for the Hart Trophy as League MVP

The three finalists for the Ted Lindsay award is also a preview for whom the finalists for the Hart Trophy will be. All three players deserve to be called the NHL MVP, and we will learn who the finalists are on July 21st.

Panarin award winning season (USATSI)

Anthony Scultore has been covering the New York Rangers and the NHL since 2014. His work also appears at... More about Anthony Scultore

Mentioned in this article:

More About: