Rangers announce Adam Fox as Team MVP as his partner Ryan Lindgren wins Players’ Player award

adam fox ryan lindgren
Mar 10, 2020; Dallas, Texas, USA; New York Rangers defenseman Adam Fox (23) and defenseman Ryan Lindgren (55) celebrates a goal during the game between the Rangers and the Stars at the American Airlines Center. Mandatory Credit: Jerome Miron-USA TODAY Sports

The New York Rangers have announced the winner of the 2020-21 Team MVP award and it deservedly so goes to Adam Fox. A native of Jericho, NY and a lifelong fan of the Blueshirts, he was the team’s most consistent player.

Adam Fox named Rangers MVP

Fox, just 23 years of age played in 55 of the team’s 56 games and he missed only one due to a brief stint on the COVID protocol list. On the season he recorded 47 points on the strength of 42 assists. He currently leads all defenseman in scoring. To go along with his offensive stats, Adam finished with a +19 rating and only 14 minutes while playing an average of 24:42 against some of the game’s best.

Per the team’s press release:

The Most Valuable Player Award was voted on by members of the New York Rangers media and has been given annually since the conclusion of the 1941-42 season. Fox has won the award for the first time in his career. He is the first Ranger who has won the award in one of his first two seasons in the NHL since Henrik Lundqvist in 2006-07, and the first Rangers skater who has done so since Brian Leetch in 1988-89. Fox, who also won the Steven McDonald Extra Effort Award in 2020-21, became the seventh Ranger to be named the Team’s MVP (as chosen by the media) and to receive the Steven McDonald Extra Effort Award (as chosen by the fans) since 1987-88, which was the first year the Steven McDonald Extra Award was presented. He joins Adam Graves (1992-93 and 1993-94), Mark Messier (1994-95 and 1995-96), Leetch (1996-97), Wayne Gretzky (1997-98), Lundqvist (2017-18), and Mika Zibanejad (2018-19) as the only players to win both awards in the same season.

adam fox ryan lindgren

Ryan Lindgren wins the Players’ Player Award

While Fox was named MVP, his defense partner Ryan Lindgren was voted the Players’ Player. The 23 year-old blue-liner’s face hasn’t met a puck or stick he doesn’t like yet! With his propensity for suffering a facial cut almost every game, his teammates recognized his will and desire to battle through anything.

Lindgren was unfortunately hurt late in the season and finished with just 51 games played. He scored only one goal but added 15 assists on the year. He finished with a +20 rating and yeoman’s 35 penalty minutes. He as well played against some of the best in the game and is a mainstay in the team’s top four.

Per the team’s press release:

The Players’ Player Award has been given annually since the conclusion of the 1958-59 season and recognizes the Ranger who, as selected by his teammates, “best exemplifies what it means to be a team player.” Lindgren has won the award for the first time in his career. He is the fourth different defenseman who has the award over the last 30 seasons (since 1990-91), joining Brian Leetch (four consecutive seasons from 2000-01 – 2003-04), Jason Strudwick (2007-08 – co-winner with Colton Orr), and Ryan McDonagh (2013-14).

Brendan Smith wins the Good Guy Award

This could very well be his final season in NY as he’s a pending UFA. However, he was recognized by the media for his cooperation throughout the season.

Per the team’s press release:

The John Halligan Good Guy Award recognizes a player for their cooperation with the media throughout the season. The award has been presented annually since the 1974-75 season and was renamed in 2009-10 to honor the team’s late public relations director. The award recipient is chosen by members of the media who cover the Rangers throughout the season.

Smith skated in 48 games with the Rangers this season, registering five goals and five assists for 10 points, along with a plus-three rating and 73 penalty minutes. He established a career-high in penalties drawn (25) and tied his career-high in goals this season, and he leads NHL defensemen in penalties drawn in 2020-21. The Rangers posted a 25-19-4 record in the 48 games which Smith played this season. 

Ryan Strome also received votes from media members for the John Halligan Good Guy Award this season. Mika Zibanejad (2018-19) and Chris Kreider (2019-20) are current Rangers who previously received the award.

Anthony Scultore is the founder of Forever Blueshirts and has been covering the New York Rangers and the NHL... More about Anthony Scultore

Mentioned in this article:

More About: