Kaapo Kakko wins Rookie of the Year in Finland

Kaapo Kakko (Getty Images)

Kaapo Kakko’s incredible season has been rewarded with the Jarmo Wasama memorial trophy for rookie of the year. It’s the 2nd straight year, a TPS player wins the award after Petrus Palmu in 2018. The now 18 year old Kakko broke the single season record for goals by an u18 player with 22, 1 more than Sasha Barkov in 2012-13.

Aleksi Heponiemi was another candidate for the award but his post season struggles likely cost him the award. Kakko has a busy schedule ahead of him. On June 12th, his team TPS will honor their 2 World Champions Mikko Lehtonen and Kaapo Kakko. After this, he will have just 9 days until the draft in Vancouver.

Rangers fan living in Europe, traveling around the world to attend hockey games, see prospects and contribute with interviews

Mentioned in this article:

More About: