NY Rangers Review: Two bad losses leaves teams with big questions

NY Rangers Review: The team went 1-2-0 for the week of 11/21/22 to 11/27/22 after getting stumped by John Gibson in Anaheim and then imploding versus Edmonton at home.

“We got passive and put on our heels,” captain Jacob Trouba explained after losing to the Oilers. “Right now nobody is in a good mood. It’s obviously not what we want. We want to be a team that can hold on to leads and play good hockey.

The Blueshirts enter this week with a record of 10-8-4 and will play a total of four times including yet another back-to-back set.

It all begins on Monday against the first place New Jersey Devils followed by at trip to Ottawa to face the Senators on Wednesday. Then the team will play on both Friday and Saturday to close the week against the Senators and Chicago Blackhawks.

The New York Rangers currently sit fifth in the Metro Division standings with 24 points. They’re one point behind the Pittsburgh Penguins for the last wild card spot in the East.

Let’s review the week that was and the week ahead for the Blueshirts.

NY Rangers Review: 11/21/22 to 11/27/22

new york rangers
Nov 23, 2022; Anaheim, California, USA; New York Rangers left wing Chris Kreider (20) reacts after the game against the Anaheim Ducks at Honda Center. Mandatory Credit: Kirby Lee-USA TODAY Sports

Rangers 5 vs Kings 3 (11/22/22)

The Rangers were down less than a minute into the game and looked like they were skating in mud. Before the first period was up, they found themselves in a 2-0 hole on the road to the buzzing Los Angeles.

Showing some of that resiliency from last season they rattled off the next three goals to take the lead after two. Braden Schneider, Vincent Trocheck, and Kaapo Kakko all scored in the middle frame.

The Kings did tie the game in the third, but Chris Kreider gave New York the lead for good on a set play just 54 seconds later. He would seal the win with an empty net goal.

“I thought the first ten (minutes) we were slow,” Gerard Gallant said on the team’s YouTube channel. “After that we played well by being more competitive on the puck and staying with our game. Obviously, that first goal was huge for us to get back into the hockey game.”

Ducks 3 vs Rangers 2 (11/23/22)

Things were going well on the Rangers four-game western road trip as they looked to close it our with a win against the lowly Anaheim Ducks.

Unfortunately, John Gibson has other ideas as he stumped the Rangers best offensive players stopping 41 of 43 shots.

Barlcay Goodrow and Braden Schneider notched goals for the Blueshirts. Jaroslav Halak took another loss and is still searching for his first win.

“We played really well. We hit five goal posts and crossbars,” Gerard Gallant said on the team’s YouTube channel. “We had lots of opportunities and (John) Gibson obviously stood on his head, so I can’t fault the performance. Just disappointed we didn’t get any points out of it.”

Oilers 4 vs Rangers 3 (11/26/22)

In what has to be the worst loss of the Rangers season to date, they blew a 3-0 lead in the third period as they watched the Edmonton Oilers score four unanswered goals.

Alexis Lafreniere, Chris Kreider, and Julien Gauthier all tallied during the first 40 minutes of play. However, in the final 20 minutes, the Rangers sat back and let the Oilers do whatever they wanted with little to no response.

“Tonight, we were awful,” said a fuming Gallant. “It’s embarrassing and it’s not acceptable.”

NY Rangers Specials Teams

The Rangers power play was good for 9th last week at 23.5%. They took a hit last week as they were unable to register a single power play goal (0-7).

Power Play

  • Percentage: 21.3 (18th)
  • PPGoals For: 16 (17th)
  • Shorthanded Goals Against: 1 (5th)

Penalty Kill

  • Percentage: 81.8 (8th)
  • Shorthanded Goals: 2 (20th)
  • PPGoals Against: 12 (4th)

NY Rangers: The Week Ahead

new york rangers kaapo kakko
Nov 13, 2022; New York, New York, USA; Arizona Coyotes goaltender Connor Ingram (39) deflects the puck after a shot by New York Rangers right wing Kaapo Kakko (24) in the second period at Madison Square Garden. Mandatory Credit: Wendell Cruz-USA TODAY Sports

The New York Rangers will play four games this week including another back-to-back set.

On Monday, the will look to end a two-game losing streak on Garden ice against the red-hot Devils (18-4-0), who are in first place in the Metro and tied with the Boston Bruins for first overall.

The Rangers then head to Ottawa on Wednesday to start a two game set against the Senators (8-12-1) which concludes on Friday. New York finishes the week against the Chicago Blackhawks (6-11-4) at MSG on Saturday.

Mon. Nov 287:00 PMNew JerseyMSG
Wed. Nov 307:00 PMat OttawaMSGSN
Fri. Dec 27:00 PMOttawaMSG
Sat. Dec 37:30 PMChicagoMSG

The Blueshirts are 5-4-1 in back-to-backs.

Here’s how they’ve fared so far:

  • First Game: 3-1-1
  • Second Game: 2-3-0

The Rangers have said all they’ve had to after their implosion against the Oilers. They now need to buckle down and start playing a tougher brand of hockey for 60 minutes.

Now can they is the question we will be asking all week.

Expect Jaroslav Halak to get the call against the Chicago Blackhawks.

Stats via NHL.com

New York Rangers injury report

Ryan Lindgren is day-to-day.

NHL News and Rumors

NHL Recaps. All the latest scores here.

NHL Rumors: Is Gerard Gallant on the hot seat? Read more.

NHL Rumors: Insider lays out Patrick Kane ask. Read more.

Share: